Xantia rear brake pads

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

froggy
Donor 2023
My Cars: S2 Xantia Forte 185435.
Peugeot 306 Meridian, the boss.

Xantia rear brake pads

Post by froggy »

Hi, Xantia [ 1997 T.D.] just passed its mot. Advisory; rear brake brake pads soon need replacing. I have never done the job before, so, is it easy? what tools do I need ? many thanks in advance .
Terry .
Terry
Xantia TD lx series1 SORN
Peugeot 306 meridian [ the boss]
Xantia HDI Forte 1997 CC
CitroJim
A very naughty boy
My Cars: Bluebell the AX, Polly the C3 Picasso, Pix the Nissan Pixo, Propel the duathlon bike, TCR Pro the road bike and Fuji the TT bike...

Re: Xantia rear brake pads

Post by CitroJim »

Terry, the job is dead easy if the pads are evenly worn and there's no signs of the caliper running at an angle to the disc.

To get the old pads out all you need is a couple of 8mm ring spanners to undo the through bolt the disc pads rest on and a large screwdriver.

Remove the through-bolt (I recommend a small application of Plus gas on it and a wire-brush) and the metal pad cover and then gently retract the caliper pistons slightly with a large screwdriver. Pull the old pads out and replace. Reassembly is a reversal of and so on... Mind the orientation of any anti-rattle shims you may find between the piston and pad.

Look at the old disc pads. If they're worn true then no worries. If they're worn at all wedge-shaped then you have the old corrosion behind the caliper problem and that can be fun...

Let us know what the old pads look like...
Jim

Runner, cyclist, time triallist, duathlete, Citroen AX fan and the CCC Citroenian 'From A to Z' Columnist...
Xaccers
My Cars:

Post by Xaccers »