ZX Speedo Cable

Our most popular forum is for Citroën problems, discussions and chat.
Specialising in AX, BX, ZX, Xantia,C5, Xsara, Saxo and XM. CX, 2cv & Berlingo, all are welcome.NOT for selling cars/parts!

Moderator: RichardW

B_Draper
Posts: 63
Joined: 16 Feb 2001, 18:51
Location: United Kingdom
My Cars:

ZX Speedo Cable

Postby B_Draper » 15 Oct 2001, 16:50

I own a 94 ZX 1.9TD Aura and have always had trouble with the speedo as it vibrates badly between 0 - 50 mph at a rate of + - 5 mph. I could live with this, but last night as I was going down the motorway at 80 mph, I had to slow down due to traffic. I looked at the dashboard and saw the speedo wasn't slowing down as quickly as I was braking. I tried this several times and in each case, the speedo was responding really slowing or sticking.
Due to the problems I have had with my speedo, I have decided to change my speedo cable.
My question is, has anyone else tried to change thier ZX's speedo cable and if so how easy was it?
I've looked at the Haynes manual but am sceptical that the speedo cables consists of two cables - 1 upper cable and 1 lower cable.
Can anyone confirm this is the case or is it one cable from the dashboard to the speed sensor?
Thanks for any help in advance
Ben
0 x

Jon
x 53

Postby Jon » 15 Oct 2001, 17:24

Thought that you might like to know that I have a 93 ZX Aura TD. The speedo needle flickers upto about 40 mph. Also, when slowing down in traffic, quite often the needle reads 10 MPH even when I am stopped with the handbrake on.
I replaced the upper speedo cable (not nice) and this has made no difference.
I suppose that I should replace the lower cable too. This goes into the top of the gearbox on the housing for the r/h driveshaft, and is fiddly.I have put the job off.
My previous ZX TD had exactly the same problem. My diagnosis is that on both cars the speedo was fine until I had the gearbox out to do the clutch. Either I have disturbed the lower cable in some way, or that its not correctly positioned in the housing. I checked this on the ramp, and basically, the cable is either in or out or its housing. Unlike earlier models, e.g. BX there is no rubber locating pin to hold the cable in exactly the right position.
My advise, change the lower cable, but I still can't guarantee a result!<img src=icon_smile_sad.gif border=0 align=middle>
Jon Wood
IT Supervisor
GSF t/as Andyspares
0 x

B_Draper
Posts: 63
Joined: 16 Feb 2001, 18:51
Location: United Kingdom
My Cars:

Postby B_Draper » 15 Oct 2001, 18:17

Cheers Jon, for responding so quickly.
How easy it to get access to the lower cable in order to change it? ie Would I be able to do on the road without a ramp?
Or would I be better off trying to find a mechanic to do it for me, bearing in mind, I tend to get very impatience when working on my car!!
Is it true the the cable comes in two parts - If so, where do they connect to to each other - please be as specific as poss!
Looking at how the cable is attached to the dashboard, I agree they aren't secured that well - I believe the plastic surround of the cable relies on gripping (by friction) the plastic clip which connects to the dashboard in order to get a good reading which in my opinion isn't the most reliable of methods to get a decent reading!!!
I asked a Citroen specialist on his opinion and he reckons it is easier to drill a new hole through the firewall / bulkhead and pass a new cable through rather than removing and replacing the existing cable! - What do you think?
Cheers
Ben
0 x

Jon
x 53

Postby Jon » 15 Oct 2001, 19:23

The cable is definately in 2 parts. The join is under the bonnet, on mine its just below the LH of the intercooler behind a plastic air pipe near the bulkhead.The 2 cable parts join togther with a thread.
To change lower cable, its easier with the car on ramps (or on a ramp in a proper garage)going from underneath.
You might just about be able to get to it from on top without a ramp, but you'd have to remove the intercooler and maybe a couple of air pipes, and it would still be fiddly.
Thats the lower cable.
I have never heard of drilling a hole in the bulkhead to do the upper cable....! Usually, steering wheel off, instrument cluster out etc etc pull the old cable through the existing hole in the bulkhead, and push/pull the new cable through (carefully)
Everyone to their own methods though!<img src=icon_smile_approve.gif border=0 align=middle>
Jon Wood
IT Supervisor
GSF t/as Andyspares
0 x

B_Draper
Posts: 63
Joined: 16 Feb 2001, 18:51
Location: United Kingdom
My Cars:

Postby B_Draper » 15 Oct 2001, 20:38

a couple more questions !! - Is the speedo cable secured anywhere (ie clipped) to the car other than either end of the cable ie instrument cluster / speedo sensor?? Is it just a case of pulling the existing cable out and feeding the new cable in.
Where in your car does the speedo cable pass through the firewall / bulkhead - Behind the glovebox, behind and below the radio or behind the instrument cluster. Again please specific as poss and how easy it is to reach!
Thanks for your advice Jon - v.helpful!!
Ben
0 x

Ben
Posts: 5
Joined: 05 Feb 2001, 20:48
Location:
My Cars:

Postby Ben » 15 Oct 2001, 23:31

Hi Ben,
I have a 92 Aura D which also has a vibrating speedo arm. From what I can remember it has done it from new, so maybe it is the speedo itself and not the cable. I just learned to live with it, but it isnt as bad as yours with sticking... ( it will probably now do it on the way home :o( )
Having owned and driven quite a few citroens, it appears to be a marque trait, but write back when you replace the cable to see if it cures it.
Good Luck
Ben
btw good name ;o)
0 x

Jon
x 53

Postby Jon » 16 Oct 2001, 20:45

OK, bit of additional info.
First of all, standing at the front of you car with the bonnet open, look behind the battrey, to the left,towards the bulkhead. here you will see the speedo cable, and the threaded joint between the 2 halves. You will see that the upper part of the cable passes through a whole in the bulkhead on the passenger side of the car.
To access upper cable inside car, as I say, first remove the steering wheel, column shroud, and instrument binacle. Then remove glovebox and trim inside to gain access to the cable where it enters cabin behind glove box.
Cable is clipped inside lower dash assembly with stupid clips. (impossible to reuse).
Remove old cable by pulling through from dash end. (will break off silly clips)
Then tie wire to new cable, thread wire through under dash, past glovebox, and through hole in bulkhead. New cable can now be carefully pulled though from under bonnet.
Well, thats how I did mine. Warning, I don't know if thats the correct way to do it, and it also took over 2 hours.
Ask yourself, is it really worth it!<b></b>
Jon Wood
IT Supervisor
GSF t/as Andyspares
0 x

Dave1
Posts: 195
Joined: 18 Apr 2001, 02:09
Location:
My Cars:

Postby Dave1 » 17 Oct 2001, 00:09

Hi,
It may may sound a simple thing but to stop the fluctuation on my zx td I pushed the cable a little further into the bulkhead. Moving the cable seemed to align it better. Perhaps you should try moving the cable one way or the other to see if any improvement is noticed.
Dave
0 x

B_Draper
Posts: 63
Joined: 16 Feb 2001, 18:51
Location: United Kingdom
My Cars:

Postby B_Draper » 17 Oct 2001, 18:33

Hi Dave
I was working on the dashboard changing the bulbs and had to take the cluster out. When i re-inserted the cluster, I jammed the cable surround in the dash - no easy job I tell you. This actually smoothed the vibration out for about an hour. I then enjoyed a fun journey over speed bumps and the vibrations came back!! - Damm!
i've decided to change the cable anyway as I can't trust what the speedo is saying - I tend to rely on my speedo a lot where speed cameras are concerned!!
Thanks for everyone's input and I'll let you know what happens over the coming weeks - Roll on Pay-day!!
0 x

John Buckley
Posts: 10
Joined: 28 Nov 2001, 17:06
Location:
My Cars:

Postby John Buckley » 28 Nov 2001, 17:19

Yep, My ZX TD is the same, I had the cables replaced under warranty, no difference.
On further investigation and on speaking to a man in the know, I found that the problem was due to the alignment of the cable.
John
0 x


Return to “Citroën”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests