Citroen ZX 1.9TDSX Immobiliser trouble

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

Mastikk
My Cars:

Citroen ZX 1.9TDSX Immobiliser trouble

Post by Mastikk »

Hey ya'll!

Iv'e just bought a Citroen ZX that's an MOT failure, I'm no mechanic but like to have a go, every now and again something really stumps me though.
Here's my story...

The car's failed on a few things, one being the horn. I was told there were troubles with the immobiliser so it was disabled also rendering the horn useless. (Stupidly) I plugged back in everything to find out what was the problem. The immobiliser, a relay under the steering wheel, and a fuse next to the battery on the engine.
After much searching I found that a fuse under the steering wheel had blown, only just, it was barely visible in fact. Ahhh!!!! the time and pain it would have saved if I'd noticed it first time. Oh well what's done is done.
Trouble is, is now the immobiliser has kicked in and set itself on, its a keypad above the gearstick.
So I called the lady I bought the car from, she told me the immobiliser had been disabled before she had bought it! (I guess I didn't understand her when she told me about the horn)
I think the immobiliser is faulty though, 3 of the keys are worn enough to tell they have been used the most so I tried different combos and I just get a green and red light, why would it have been disabled in the first place anyway aswell.
I don't think the car has an ecu, i think it might go straight to a solenoid on the fuel pump. But don't know???
Any ideas on how to get the car started and get around this or get the immobiliser working again would be great!
Many thanks in advance.
Oh if you can't contact me on forum because of anti theft stuff please reach me by email or 0-75-9-1-4-0-2-1-2-5
citronut
My Cars:

Re: Citroën ZX 1.9TDSX Immobiliser trouble

Post by citronut »

hi and welcome