Timing Belt Change on Xsara Picasso 2.0 HDI

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

dippythecow
New User

Timing Belt Change on Xsara Picasso 2.0 HDI

Post by dippythecow »

Hi,

My wifes Picasso is due for a timing belt change, I've done this twice on my Pug 205 without any problems, but this is my first time with a more complex and less space to work with car. Reading the manual it starts by saying "that unless I have a special tool/equipment to measure the tension on the belt (in SEEMS) , you should not attempt this and take it to your local dealer instead". I don't like thowing in the towel and have in the past taken on jobs from Head gaskets, driveshafts, making up brake pipes, etc.. (All on my 205) is this tool going to stop me in my tracks, or is there a workaround?

I have looked for this tool and you can get one for around £420, near the quote I've got for doing the whole job including the water pump at my local dealer.
Nige

1992 Peugeot 250 D Style
1996 Suzuki Bandit 1200
2001 Gilera Runner 180
1995 Citroen Xsara Picasso 2.0 HDI (Wifes)
DickieG
Monaco's youngest playboy
My Cars:

Re: Timing Belt Change on Xsara Picasso 2.0 HDI

Post by DickieG »

Seem gauges are difficult to find but as an alternative there are other belt tension gauges available, it doesn't have to be made by Seem. Most of us changing timing belts use the twist the belt on its longest run by 90° as a well tried method, I have a couple of Seem gauges and the 90° method isn't far out when I compare the two methods directly.

BTW welcome to FCF :-D
13 Ram 1500 Hemi
14 BMW 535D Tourer
19 BMW i3s
06 C3 Desire 1.4
72 DS 21 EFi Pallas BVH
rory_perrett
My Cars: Xantia Exclusive 110Hdi Estate 1999

Post by rory_perrett »