stiff steering

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

boeingmech

stiff steering

Post by boeingmech »

Has anyone experienced stiff steering in the cold weather? My xantia 1.9td power steering is very stiff when cold but after running for a while or driving a mile or so it loosens up, I have checked tyres and hydraulic level and all is OK
Peter.N.
Moderating Team
My Cars: Currently:

C5 X7 VTR + Satnav Hdi estate Silver
C5 X7 VTR + Hdi Estate 2008 Red

In the past: 3, CX td Safaris and about 7, XM td estates. Lovely cars.

Post by Peter.N. »

Check the tension on the hydraulic pump drive belt.
quintet
Donor 2023
My Cars: 2.0 hdi Peugeot 307

Post by quintet »

Oddly my suspension & braking has been feeling like that first thing in the morning this past (cold) week, i just put it down to the nature of the fluid (LHM). I'm actually in my first year/winter of citroen ownership (despite 13+ years of working for them) so I'm slightly unaccustomed to driving such a car early in the morning, in the evenings (after work) the car's usually fine so right now I'm not so bothered although i do need the rear 'pressure' sphere (forgot actual name :oops: ) changing soon but thats another story. (car suspension drops on start up & brakes are initially slightly weak), maybe i'll check the filter & fluid condition at some point (ie when i can be ars3d :lol: )
Music keeps me going.
RichardW
Forum Treasurer
My Cars: MK2 '17 C4GP 1.6 BlueHDi 120
'13 3008 1.6 HDi GripControl

Post by RichardW »

Old LHM + dirty filters + Cold weather + old tired pump = stiff steering.

At least the later Xantias don't have FDVs which, when combined with the above lead to on/off power steering on cold mornings. Which is interesting!
Richard W
red_dwarfers
(Donor 2020)
My Cars:

Post by red_dwarfers »

I've started noticing this, sorts itself out after a couple of minutes though.
Kev

'19 C4 Cactus 130 Flair
Deanxm
My Cars: Citroen XM