Suspension Query

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

techwondo

Suspension Query

Post by techwondo »

Greetings to alll!!!!

Im posting this, as my neighbour has a R plate 2.1TD Xantia SX, which is causing some consternation.

When he first bought this car it didnt sink over night and when the engine was started the stop light went out immediatly. Over the last few weeks, its began to sink over night and the stop light is taking between 1 and 4 minutes to go out.

Another quandry is the physical LHM level indicator seems to be stuck.

There is a pronounced ticking, which sounds like its comming from under the LHM fluid resaviour (or however its spelt) which seems to come and go as it wants.

While im OK fixing my own car, im new to Citroens. Any help is appreciated.
addo
Sara Watson's Stalker
Location: NEW South Wales, Australia. I'll show you "Far, far away" ;-)
My Cars: Peugeot 605
Citroën Berlingo
Alfa 147

Post by addo »

Are there visible leaks of fluid either from under the car, in the engine bay or in the driver's footwell behind the pedals?

Has the steering become stiffer?
citronut
My Cars:

Post by citronut »

hi and welcome

if the llevel indicator on the tank is up the top of the sight glass, this is usualy because the tank is over full, this wont affect anything in the system apart from make a mess as the citro blood seeps out around the top of the tank,

the ticking is more than likely the acumalator/regulator sphere, this is the one on the device (regulator) on the front of the gear box,

the other thing to check is the pump drive belt,

that will give you something to start with till others sudgest more

regards malcolm
Old-Guy
My Cars: 2011 Grand C4 Picasso VTR+ 1.6HDi in Kyanos Blue
1995 Xantia Estate SX 1.9TD in Vert Vega "The Green Lady" - now owned by XanTom
1998 Xantia 2.1 VXD Estate in Mauritius Blue - R.I.P. (terminal tin-worm)

Post by Old-Guy »