Just Bought a 96 P Reg Xantia VSX TD - suspension question

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

PjGuitarWales

Just Bought a 96 P Reg Xantia VSX TD - suspension question

Post by PjGuitarWales »

Hi..my first post so please be gentle.

I bought the car as it has wonderful history and has obviously been looked after. I really wanted a XUD engined car as my father has alot of experience of these engines and felt that it was a good way to go.

Its an estate as Im a musician for a living.

There is absolutely no manual with car. Can someone fill me in or direct me to some information regarding correct choice of suspenson height in different scenarios? There is a button in front of the lever too.

Im not sure how long its been standing or what it needs doing to it to fettle it but it now seems to have evened out and goes up and down on command, at first it was a bit unsure and elevated unevenly from back/front.

If you push down on the boot it bounces back.

Im told the garage changed all the spheres.... and there is evidence of this and certainly reciepts proving so. Despite this, it is ticking a bit and seems to move if the brake pedal has been held for sometime.

Praying I havent bought a dud as the car is in lovely condition has been looked after mechanically and I am very very taken with it. It has four good tires, an mot to may and runs well. Its on 112k wit the cam belt done at 90k.

Loving what I have seen of the forum so far I hope you can help. Im hoping Ive got a good workhorse and a comfortable family car for my two daughters of 4 and 2.

There are a few other niggles Id like advice on but thought it better to focus on the suspension to start.

Very best regards
Pj Williams
PJW
KennyW
(Donor 2022)
My Cars: Current Citroen's
C5 x7 2010
SWMBO C3 2012
Previous Citroen's
Xantia 2.0 90hp estate
Xantia 1.9 TD estate

Post by KennyW »

Welcome to the forum Paul,