C5 HDI engine problem - anti pollution

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

graysclassics

C5 HDI engine problem - anti pollution

Post by graysclassics »

Hi guys, Really looking to get into a C5 and found an affordable one with a fault. The engine runs as normal when set to "limp home" mode but the fault as reported by the seller is this:

Basically the engine conks out in mid-drive after anti pollution warning light comes on. If you leave it to cool down for a couple of hours it will run again (but will conk again after an hour or two!) car is drivable in limp home mode and is taxed mot until end June.Antipollution fault that has been diagnoised at garage as Fuel Pressure Regulator and Fuel Pressure Sensor but they say it might be the Injector pump thats faulty and causing the regulator to fail.

I'm no expert on the HDI but it sounds like it needs a new cat to me! Cant see that any of the parts mentioned would need to "cool down" - I will give it a miss if the pump is stuffed, dont have time or inclination to do it.

Any pointers would be very welcome. Cheers fellow french fans...
cachaciero
My Cars:

Post by cachaciero »

O.K Basics first.

Which HDi engine are we talking about? and what year?

cachaciero
2006 Toyota Prius T Spirit
2001 2.2 C5 Exclusive SE
1996 XM 2.1 TD Auto VSX
1995 XM 2.1 TD Auto SX died @ 140K
1987 CX 2.5 Gti Turbo II dead
1984 Ford Scorpio
1981 CX 2.4 Pallas Auto
Renault 21
1220 GS Club
Rover P6 2000TC
graysclassics

Post by graysclassics »

Thanks, all I know is it is the 2.0 HDI 2003, HPI exclusive.

There appears to be a lot of suspects for this fault...
jonathan_dyane

Post by jonathan_dyane »

Unless it is in the couple of hundred pounds price bracket, my advise would be avoid...
Jonathan
1986 Mercedes Benz 190D 2.5
1979 GS 1220 Club Estate awaiting more welding
1952 David Brown 30D awaiting new liners
cachaciero
My Cars:

Post by cachaciero »