CV Boot Clip, How to Fit?

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

evilally
(Donor 2020)
My Cars:

CV Boot Clip, How to Fit?

Post by evilally »

Ok, I'm refitting a CV joint, which I've never done before. I have a new boot kit, which comes with new clips. Probably a stupid questions, but how on earth do you fit these things:

I assumed it would pull on with pliers, but it's way too tight. I have concluded there must be some sort of tool for them?
'96 405 1.6 GLX with 306 GTI engine on Cat cams @ 195bhp

'05 RenaultSport Clio 182 Cup, 102k

'97 406 1.9TD, 314k.
CitroJim
A very naughty boy
My Cars: Bluebell the AX, Polly the C3 Picasso, Pix the Nissan Pixo, Propel the duathlon bike, TCR Pro the road bike and Fuji the TT bike...

Post by CitroJim »

There is a tool but you can get away with a pair of carpenters nail-pulling thingys. You can tell I know nothing about woodwork here but it's the tool they use for pulling nails out of things and look like a giant pair of wire cutters on end.

Anyway, pull the clip as tight as you can until one of the "pimples" engage with one of the holes on the tail beyond the raised bit and holds the clip firm. You should be able to do this using finger/thumb pressure of a big pair of water-pump pliers.

Then, using the carpenters thingys, pinch to sides of the raised bit to squash them close together. This will tighten the clip against the boot and hold it all tight. You will find the "pimples" are little hooks and the tighter the clip is pulled by the pinching action on the raised bit, the harder the hooks hold.

Hope that helps and the description makes some sense :)
Jim

Runner, cyclist, time triallist, duathlete, Citroen AX fan and the CCC Citroenian 'From A to Z' Columnist...
evilally
(Donor 2020)
My Cars:

Post by evilally »

Thanks Jim,

The clip has two little hooks, I will only be able to engage one. Will this be sufficient?

I suspect this is what I need: