new auxiliary drivebelt noise

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

lazza
My Cars:

new auxiliary drivebelt noise

Post by lazza »

HI Forum

Have successfully changed crankshaft pulley, auxiliary drivebelt and change the 3 way coolant pipe from the bottom of the radiator. All ready for big trip to france this week.

One thing- the new auxiliary drivebelt, exactly same number/model as the last one, makes a squeeling sound for the first 5 minutes or so. Then it seems to settle down.

Is the automatic tensioner not working correctly?
Is this normal wearing in process?

Thanks
Larry
(1996 Citroen Xantia 1.9TD LX with aircon)
Living in exile in Spain
Running on 100% veggie in summer
Xantidote
My Cars:

Post by Xantidote »

Larry, I've no knowledge of the auto-tensioner as mine has a manual tensioner, but I can't believe there should be any "wearing in process".

If the squealing disappears after about 5 minutes, this could be when the load on the belt, due to alternator recharging the battery, has reduced.

Does squealing still happen if you restart the engine after (say) 5 minutes. On the 2nd start-up, engine presumably fires instantly, therefore taking less out of the battery. Condition of tensioner pulley bearing OK?
Martin

1995 Xantia TDLX (deceased :( )
xantia_v6
Forum Admin Team
Lexia Available: Yes
My Cars: -
1997 Citroen Xantia V6 (France)
1999 Citroen XM V6 ES9 (France)
2011 Peugeot 308 CC THP 155 (NZ)
1975 Jaguar XJ-S pre-HE (NZ)

Post by xantia_v6 »

It is possible that one or more of your pulleys is worn such that the belt is not gripping properly. On ribbed belt systems, this usually shows up as the bottom of the valleys in the pully looking a little bit rounded, rather than sharp (the belt gets it grip from the sides of the valleys, not the peaks and troughs).