suspension

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

bennyboy
My Cars:

suspension

Post by bennyboy »

general question on suspension,,on 95 m reg xm 2.0 turbo
when car is parked on drive i have noticed that the rear suspension sinks first (totally sunk after about 4--5 hours although the front can take 8 hours plus to lower,,
is this normal (i use the term "normal " loosely when talking about a citroen..)
i just thought that they would sink at the same rate or the front first with it being heavier
i am a citroen newbie trying hard to understand french cars
(my boss is french and i cannot understand his way of thinking) maybe i am just not european enough
Peter.N.
Moderating Team
My Cars: Currently:

C5 X7 VTR + Satnav Hdi estate Silver
C5 X7 VTR + Hdi Estate 2008 Red

In the past: 3, CX td Safaris and about 7, XM td estates. Lovely cars.

Post by Peter.N. »

As you suggest, there is no such thing as normal with a hydropnumatic system. I have four XMs and they all behave differently, it depends largely on the condition of the various moving parts of the system. If they work OK, I leave them alone.
CitroJim
A very naughty boy
My Cars: Bluebell the AX, Polly the C3 Picasso, Pix the Nissan Pixo, Propel the duathlon bike, TCR Pro the road bike and Fuji the TT bike...

Re: suspension

Post by CitroJim »

bennyboy wrote: i am a citroen newbie trying hard to understand french cars
Benny, ther is no understanding French cars! Part of their charm :D

I assue an M plate XM would have anti-sink but that does not mean it cannot and will not sink. Generally the rear sinks first because there is less pressure knocking around the rear to begin with and secondly, more places for it to leak away, the brake dosuer for one. The front has more pressure and this tends to snap the anti-sink valves shut faster and more reliably.