Berlingo 1.9d oil consumption & questions.

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

berlingo_neil

Berlingo 1.9d oil consumption & questions.

Post by berlingo_neil »

Hello there, i'm a newbie! :lol:

Recently acquired a 1997 Berlingo van, 1.9 xud? engine. It's got 100k on the clock & that's genuine, backed up by old MOT's & some service history. I not familiar with diesel Citroens - my cars a flat twin powered, normally!

It runs very well, but if i leave it overnight, especially in this cold weather it can be a little awkward to start - takes perhaps a couple of turns of the key to get going, then it runs a bit 'lumpy' for perhaps 3-4 seconds then settles down nicely. When it does first start up after being left for a reasonable length of time it smokes (appears greyish/whiteish!) for about 10 seconds & then clears. The engine appears to run well, it's quiet, & has no untoward noises - holds the temp gauge halfway on the dial.

I can't find anything relating to the glow plugs being changed - would that be a possible cause?

Other thing is - when i picked it up, i drove home 180 miles, negotiated a roundabout near my house & the oil pressure lamp came on, only briefly, got home & turned off the ignition, turned it back on & the little yellow lamp that looks like a dipstick flashed for 10-15 seconds - consulted the handbook & it was due to low oil level - topped it up, got the level 3/4's of the way to the full mark on the stick & all was well. i've used it everyday for 3 weeks, racked up 900 miles including a 280 mile round trip today, mostly motorway. Approaching my town tonight i took a different roundabout & the oil pressure lamp lit up again - soon as i straightened up it went out. pulled over switched off - turned it back on again & the dipstick yellow warning lamp flashed again! :?