Heater fan always on full speed - common citroen problem?

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

AirCooledHeaven
Locked user account

Heater fan always on full speed - common citroen problem?

Post by AirCooledHeaven »

Hi

I've owned a synergie HDi SX from new, it's the one with climate control. Now for the third time I have a problem that the heater fan is permanently on full speed. Even with climate control switched off completely the fan is still going. With climate control switched on I can press the fan speed up and down buttons and the little bargraph display goes up and down accordingly, but the fan only has one speed, flat out.

The first two occasions it was fixed under warranty, I believe the fan blower unit was changed, now of course I'm looking for a diy fix. I'm sure this is probably a simple electronic component failed, and as an electronics engineer myself I'd like to fix it. Just wondering if anyone here has had a similar problem.

Thanks
myglaren
Forum Admin Team
My Cars: Mazda 6
Ooops.
Previously:
2009 Honda Civic :(
C5, C5, Xantia, BX, GS, Visa.
R4, R11TXE, R14, R30TX

Post by myglaren »

It is certainly a common enough problem with Citroens and Peugeots and you will find quite a few threads devoted to it.
The cause is not always the same, there are a few variations that depend somewhat on the type of air conditioning/climate control that is installed.

I have mine die completely and had to replace what is generally known as the `resistor pack' - although it wasn't really, a heap of surface mount components and a triac by the looks of it. Chucked it out now unfortunately.