2.1TD Warmup Time

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

CitroJim
A very naughty boy
My Cars: Bluebell the AX, Polly the C3 Picasso, Pix the Nissan Pixo, Propel the duathlon bike, TCR Pro the road bike and Fuji the TT bike...

2.1TD Warmup Time

Post by CitroJim »

I thought it last year and I'm thinking it again this year. My 2.1TD seems to take an age to warm up on chilly mornings.

My journey to work is six miles along rural roads so not fast or particularly racy. In fact, I'm a very gentle driver. This morning it took four miles before it reached 80 degrees. It was a good mile and a half before the needle moved off the end-stop. For this time there is a real lack of heat in the cabin :twisted:

I know the 'stat is working by doing the hose test and by the fact that it comes up to temperature after 4 miles and stays there resolutely. If there was a real problem with the 'stat I'd expect it to run cool at other times. Once up to temperature, the heater works a treat.

My Activa warms up almost instantaneously and I never recall my 1.9TD taking such a time to get warm. Maybe I'm not comparing apples with apples here.

Given the 2.1TD thermostat is such a task to get to and replace, I don't want to swap it if this is normal 2.1TD behaviour.

Grateful for the views of other 2.1TD owners please :wink:
Jim

Runner, cyclist, time triallist, duathlete, Citroen AX fan and the CCC Citroenian 'From A to Z' Columnist...
Old-Guy
My Cars: 2011 Grand C4 Picasso VTR+ 1.6HDi in Kyanos Blue
1995 Xantia Estate SX 1.9TD in Vert Vega "The Green Lady" - now owned by XanTom
1998 Xantia 2.1 VXD Estate in Mauritius Blue - R.I.P. (terminal tin-worm)

Post by Old-Guy »

One of the many advantages our 1.9TD has over its predecessors (2.0D Montegos) is the (relatively) fast warm up on chilly mornings. I drive lots of different vans, particularly Transits, which also mostly take an age to warm up.