Coolant Change on Xantia

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

red_dwarfers
(Donor 2020)
My Cars:

Coolant Change on Xantia

Post by red_dwarfers »

The two year coolant change is ready (rad changed in 2006 according to history) on the Xantia! And its my first time doing one 8)
I've familiarised myself with the BoL section on it and it seemed 'simple' enough so I began to give it a shot...

I've drained the coolant out of the rad using a cunningly modified 4pt milk carton and the stuff seems blue. I gather that this is the wrong type of coolant for the Xantia too as it should be red.

I presume that the best thing for me to do now is to either flush everything through, or find this mysterious drain plug on the cylinder block (any ideas?)

When I do come to put the new coolant in (50% anti freeze/50% dewhatsitized water) I think im right in saying that I make myself up a header tank and drain through until I get the mixture out of a bleed screw somewhere around the thermostat housing then do this one up, switch the engine on and wait for the thermostat to open and let more fluid down through to the bottom of the rad, I then wait for all the air bubbles to come out.
The BoL also says something about a bleed screw around the heater matrix pipes, I could do with some direction finding this one as well as the bleed screw around the thermostat housing.

If I have missed anything out please correct me!

Cheers
Kev
Kev

'19 C4 Cactus 130 Flair
red_dwarfers
(Donor 2020)
My Cars:

Post by red_dwarfers »

Right, sort of answered one of my own questions :lol:
I've found the bleed screw for the heater matrix.

So I just need some guidance with draining any excess fluid out of the system and a bit of help regarding putting the new coolant back in :wink:
Kev

'19 C4 Cactus 130 Flair
CitroJim
A very naughty boy