New citrophile says hello ............

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

vince
My Cars:

New citrophile says hello ............

Post by vince »

Greetings all :) My first post on here..

Although im a current VW driver, Im not a complete virgin having owned in the past a citroen ZX and 2 petrol Xantias :P

As its been a while since that time, i have a few questions to aid me in my current shopping for a new magic carpet.....

1, On the 2.1's what common faults do they have?
2, Are the LUCAS high pressure pumps reliable on the 2.1's
3, Is there any reason why you would choose a 1.9 over the 2.1 if the 2.1 has more torque and better economy?
4, If you remove rear boot lid spoilers do they leave holes or fixings in the boot lid?
5, Do the A/C equipped cars run the same Heater matrix system as the non AC ones? I.e Is there anyway to avoid the heater matrix issues?

Also does anyone know of any good ones in a dark colour going for circa £700 in the manchester / lancashire area?

Thanks
Vince
CitroJim
A very naughty boy
My Cars: Bluebell the AX, Polly the C3 Picasso, Pix the Nissan Pixo, Propel the duathlon bike, TCR Pro the road bike and Fuji the TT bike...

Post by CitroJim »

Hi Vince and a warm welcome :D

You're speaking to the second biggest fan of the 2.1 after PeterN on here :D I love 'em to bits.

Common faults: None. Some things are a pain, like the cambelt tensioner and the thermostat, which lives low-down in the block in the waterpump housing. Head gaskets die at around 150,000 miles and strictly it's an engine out job to do although some have done them in-situ.

Otherwise, the 2.1 is a very tough old engine but do replace the cambelt and waterpump regularly and ensure the rad is good. In common with all xantias, the rads don't have a long life.

The 2.1TD engine sounds very "diesely" on idle but at cruising speeds is very quiet and smooth.