strange noise on xantia

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

ricflair

strange noise on xantia

Post by ricflair »

Ive got a p reg xantia td 1.9lx

For a few weeks, im getting random whailing noises when im driving. If i stop, and start the car again its gone. Its appearing randomly and is very strange.

Any ideas? Seems to be coming from the engine. Also, sometimes latley ive swtiched the ignition off after driving and the car kind of takes a second or 2 before it switches off. Not sure if im making sense here,, not knowing much about these cars.

Cheers
mezuk04a
My Cars:

Post by mezuk04a »

I'm no expert by any means but my BIL had a ZX (it was a complete lemon)....anyway....he complained to me about a whistling type noise coming from the engine. So he revved the car while I stood at the front, I could hear the noise but I found it to be coming from the end of the exhaust.

I queried this on the forum and the response received was its fairly normal and nothing to worry about.

The noise appeared (From memory) at about 2,500RPM to 3k.

So might be best to get someones foot on the pedal while you have a walk around.

OR

It might be none of the above and its probably due to a hamster :lol:
Golf 55' 1.9TD
Peter.N.
Moderating Team
My Cars: Currently:

C5 X7 VTR + Satnav Hdi estate Silver
C5 X7 VTR + Hdi Estate 2008 Red

In the past: 3, CX td Safaris and about 7, XM td estates. Lovely cars.

Post by Peter.N. »

Sounds as though it could possibly be a bearing somewhere, either the cambelt idler/tensioner or the alternator, difficult to locate even when its doing it!