Mark II Xantia Fog Light replacement

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

easterroad

Mark II Xantia Fog Light replacement

Post by easterroad »

Hello All,

I need to replace my N/S fog lamp on my Mark II Xantia ( X reg HDI ) - the lens has been smashed to smithereens by a stone. In Haynes it mentions prising off a bit of trim and then using a screwdriver to lever the unit out... this I guess refers to the Mark I arrangement as my foglight has no surrounding trim and is quite different to the illustrations.

So my question is how do I get at the unit ( i have sourced a cheap replacement )? Is it a bumper off job or can I get there after removing a headlamp....?

Thanks in advance for any pointers!
mezuk04
My Cars:

Post by mezuk04 »

I have no experience, but have you tried reaching into the inside of the bumper from the back?
Volkswagen Golf 59' 1.6TD S :(
slim123

Post by slim123 »

From memory, the way you have described is for the MK 1 only, the MK 2 as you have found out, dont have the removable trim.

It is supposed to be a bumper off job, this in itself is not to difficult, but I seem to remember replacing one a few years back without removing the bumper, there is a bit of swearing involved and nimble fingers. Again as I remember the bumper off option was easier.

Regards
Slim.
nurkov
My Cars:

Post by nurkov »

You don't have to remove the bumber but it's a lot easier without it.
Citroen Xantia Break 2.0T Exclusive 1999
Citroen Xsara 1.4i West Coast 1999
easterroad

Post by easterroad »

Thanks for the replies.
Fair enough it is as I expected, no shortcuts :wink: , so I will take the bumper off this weekend.
lawns
(Donor 2020)
My Cars: Xantia 11 2.0 HDI. 110
C3 1.4 HDI DV4C A51
Peugeot 3008 2.0 HDI 150

Post by lawns »

I think I saw a post that said you can get to it by removing the headlight. Have you done a search on the forum?
Regards,
lawns
easterroad

Post by easterroad »