Xantia height corrector

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

Welshwoman

Xantia height corrector

Post by Welshwoman »

A lot of differing opinions it seems, reading through the threads on suspension etc.

Our Xantia HDI estate is sitting down at the back and will not get up. Front operates normally on height lever, LHM levels are OK. No leakage, no cracked pipes that I can see. Managed (with great difficulty!) to get it up onto ramps to inspect the rear end. I have no technical knowledge whatsoever, although we've had Citroens for years (3BX's and 2 Xantias) and are aware of what happens in the hydropneumatic suspension. Also had a lot of problems over the years, some due to faulty workmanship.

Recently had 3 new spheres on the rear as it was bouncing, and they made little difference. Now this!

Car also creaked and groaned when the rear end went up and down. Could be the height corrector complaining?

The plastic link is intact and secure, but the height corrector looks very rusty. I've thoroughly sprayed with WD40 (someone else told me not to do that), left it for an hour and then tried to raise and lower the suspension again. No luck. I'm happy to give it another try, but if that fails I now haven't a clue. Do I replace the height corrector or not. Do I replace the plastic link? (Depends on which thread one reads) Or, could the problem be an air lock, possibly created when the spheres were changed? Or something else? It wasn't noticeable that the brakes were any different, (but then we were going at a snail's pace afterwards, trying to get home without damage.) It happened after braking suddenly, however.