How easy is it *REALLY* to change XUD timing belt?

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

LeeDJC
My Cars:

How easy is it *REALLY* to change XUD timing belt?

Post by LeeDJC »

After doing all the fluids oils etc on my car today (it had no service history when I bought it) I now want to change the timing belt.

I've never done a timing belt before, tbh I've never really messed about with engines too much. Always left that to the mechanic. I've always done all the other non engine stuff to my cars though.

Would it just be easier to send it into the garage for this, or is it worth a go?
2004 Berlingo Multispace HDI, 105000
bxbodger
My Cars:

Post by bxbodger »

Not hard at all- the toughest bit is usually getting the engine pulley off, the rest is relatively run of the mill nut'n'bolt work, albeit in a bit of a tight space-follow haynes, the description is pretty good, with pictures of its layout.

You need some means of locking the engine and cam and diesel pump in the TDC position- Haynes, again, shows how to do it without a kit but I have a locking kit I bought for a few quid from the local spares shop, and you also need the big socket for the bottom pulley nut, I can't remember the size at the moment though!!

A trolley jack is handy as well for moving the engine up and down to make access easier- you could do it just as easily with a scissor or bottle jack but the trolley jack makes it quicker.
davethewheel

Post by davethewheel »

the only problem i had when changing the belt was getting the timing dowel into the flywheel as i was by myself, i could have done with another pair of hands :lol:
it's a straight forward enough job just remember to double check all the timing dowels are in the correct place, and you will need a decent breaker bar as the crank pulley nut can be tight to remove :)
DaveW
My Cars:

Post by DaveW »

There are some useful threads here :