Xantia Checks?

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

mezuk04
My Cars:

Xantia Checks?

Post by mezuk04 »

Well have finally got a place and time to do the 5k service on the Xantia (BIL's).

My current list of checks and fixes is to:

Add grease to the hinges and locks.
Citerobics.
Check the rubbers on the struts for failings.
WD-40 the height linkages

Any small little jobbies to be done while I'm at the car to make sure everything is hunky dory?

No major DIY work please, Im only a novice.
Volkswagen Golf 59' 1.6TD S :(
Clogzz
My Cars:

Post by Clogzz »

Engine oil and filter change ?
How old are the LHM, coolant, fuel and air filters ?
The hinges need something like engine or gear oil, WD40 is good for only a few days.
The door opening stops can also squeak, oil in the pivots, and grease on the cams.
A good look around the tyres.
I check tyre pressures by feeling their temperature after a drive of at least 10 miles.
The tyres on the same ‘axle’ must be equally warm.
The fronts warmer than the rears.
Not very scientific, but both tyres on the same axle are not likely to have gone low and warm to the same extent.
2002 C5 2.0i AL4 230,000 km 76372389
mezuk04
My Cars:

Post by mezuk04 »

Yeah will be doing the standard 5k service.

3 of the tyres were changed when I purchased the car and 1 was brand new already on, so not concerned about them.

LHM & Coolant was done (new radiator) when I purchased the car in August and subsequently the last time the coolant was done was around Feb 2006 when a water pump and belt was done. (That coolant has been done about 5 times now in 6 months) hehehehe

No squeaking as of yet with the doors. Air filter was done 5k ago but gonna wait for the next 5k service to replace that.
Kowalski
My Cars: Ex 05 C5 2.0 HDI Exclusive 145k
Ex 97 Xantia 1.9TD SX 144k
Ex 94 Xantia Dimension 1.9TD 199k

Post by Kowalski »