Xantia 1.9TD hydraulics query

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

Mad Ax
My Cars:

Xantia 1.9TD hydraulics query

Post by Mad Ax »

Hi guys, noob here, had a lot of problems with an "auction purchase" 1.9TD Estate, but finally got it MOT'd and roadworthy, just got a few more little niggles to sort out before I have a happy car :)

Firstly - the hydraulics worked OK when I picked the car up, but it failed the MOT due to lack of damping. I replaced all 6 spheres, and the ride is now much improved. However, the front suspension sometimes sinks when I turn off the ignition. Is this correct?

It's not really fault, IMO, but I was pretty sure that a 96 xantia shouldn't sink, front or back..?

Also, if the suspension is on the lowest setting and I raise it up, it takes a while to respond. Is this normal? Sometimes 30-40 seconds before the front starts to rise, then the back follows.

When rising, the front end comes up in bursts. It'll go up half an inch, stop, then go up another half, stop, etc etc, at about 1 second intervals. If this is normal then fine, but I wondered if it indicates a more serious fault in the hydraulics.

Finally, the rear suspension often seems to be too high. Looking at it yesterday, I think it sits either at the highest or lowest setting, and nowhere in between. I guess I need to lube up the adjuster mechanism underneath, right? Or does the height adjuster need adjusting? (There's something in the Haynes manual about resetting rear ride height).

Also, can someone tell me what the ride height positions are actually for? OK, the highest is for changing wheels, and the middle is for normal driving, what's the lowest setting actually for? And the one between normal and maximum..?

Cheers in advance :)
mezuk04
My Cars:

Post by mezuk04 »

Working backwards as you have asked the most technical questions to begin with...and Im not technical :lol: