xantia has a stiffy!! + other problems!!

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

mrchibbly

xantia has a stiffy!! + other problems!!

Post by mrchibbly »

Hi all
I'm a newbie here so be gentle with me.
I have some mechanical knowledge but the citroen suspension and diesel engines confuse me.........so here goes.......
I have just bought a xantia 1994 turbo diesel, and it has the following problems......
The front suspension is rock hard. I thought that the front end may be seized because the car has been sitting for 2 months, however, I selected the high( wheel change position) on the selector lever inside the car and up she went.
So i selected the low (de-pressurise.....Slammed) position and down she went.......But when I select either of the middle positions it raises up or drops down to a position higher than usual and the front is as hard as a rock......
Any ideas why?? What type of suspension is this?? hydractive/2 ??
Also.......it smokes, it smokes bad.....it smokes white.
I have checked the oil filler ( no excessive blowing) I checked the expansion chamber ( no bubbles) and no mixed coolant with the oil in either.
She runs a bit lumpy, and lacks power, but i thought I would take a chance.......so I drove it home (35 miles).......the temperature stayed fine, the turbo pulled hard with no additional excessive smoke being produced on boost, she used no oil or water so I am a little confused.........i thought tha head gasket had gone!!
Any of you guys or girls have any idea what is wrong with my new purchase??
Hope you can help.!!!
Thanks in advance
mezuk04
My Cars:

Post by mezuk04 »

Sounds as if the front spheres need to be replaced almost for certainty, you should have these both replaced at the same time. From GSF they are £18.65 +VAT +P&P (£4), the mail service is very good.