Xsara HDI Automatic - problems? advice needed!

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

rabenson
My Cars:

Xsara HDI Automatic - problems? advice needed!

Post by rabenson »

Hi All,

I'm looking for something to replace my zx when it becomes long in the tooth and have decided to start a bit of research. The Xsara HDI seems a logical replacement and I quite fancy the idea of an auto gearbox for a change. (have to commute in heavy traffic)

Looking on honestjohn, however, I found a thread indicating problems with this gearbox / engine combination.

http://www.honestjohn.co.uk/forum/post?t=22601

It appears that it may have been sorted. Anyone any experience of the HDI auto Xsara? should I think again? all advice welcome as I am a total auto newbie. :oops:

Thanks

Ron
2007 C6 2,7 HDI exclusive 95k
2004 C5 VTR HDI 103k
AndersDK
My Cars:

Post by AndersDK »

Its free (+ spam free at your choise) to register at yahoo. Then you can join the discussion group and read all details from owners there. I recommand you do that if you are serious on that Xsara model.
Anders (DK) - '90 BX16Image
rabenson
My Cars:

Post by rabenson »

Thanks Anders,

I've joined the Yahoo list and the autobox seems decidedly dodgy. maybe I'll just put up with the stick and clutch approach.....

Thanks again

Ron
2004 C5 VTR HDI 103k
James.UK
My Cars:

Post by James.UK »

Ron. Don't just give up because that particular engine-gearbox partnership was a disaster. I have had auto's all my life and never had any trouble with any of them. The problem has always been cost related, petrol engine + auto box = low mpg.. :cry:

Forget the Xsara. :( Buy another ZX but get an automatic 1.9D. If you maintain it well it will run for many years yet..