Heater Blower Direction Query - Xantia

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

320i coupe

Heater Blower Direction Query - Xantia

Post by 320i coupe »

Hi all,

This is my first time on here, so please bear with me!
I have a '97 P Reg Xantia TD, and ive got a very frustrating problem, the slider will not go across to send the air to the screen for demisting, it seems to have some kind of resistance??
i have partially removed the dash, and the cable that seems to control this has a kink in it???
is the cable supposed to have a kink in it, or could there be another reason why the air wont go there???

It will flow to foot & face fine???

Oh and finally where does this cable go, could it have broke at the other end???

Sorry for your waffling, but its driving me mad on this winter mornings, and i dont want to send it to our incompetent local dealer!

Thanks,

Steve
AndersDK
My Cars:

Post by AndersDK »

No kinks on control cables please !
That would certainly upset the operation.

The control cables for the ventilation flaps are the simple ones with a rigid (nut spunned) inner to make it a flexible push/pull rod.
The Xantia heater does not suffer from a cooling water tap that could seize. It's all controlled by flap positions.
Anders (DK) - '90 BX16Image
320i coupe

Post by 320i coupe »

so are we saying that its simply the cable that is at fault??

if they are, how mad a job is it to replace??

steve
AndersDK
My Cars:

Post by AndersDK »

Not ben there myself - but try the forum search facility "Citroen" "heater control" "all terms".
Got 119 replies ...
Anders (DK) - '90 BX16Image
320i coupe

Post by 320i coupe »

searched for that, and it did bring up an issue from a few years back, but no 1 posted a solution!

any ideas???
James.UK
My Cars:

Post by James.UK »