breaking in

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

victor xt
My Cars:

breaking in

Post by victor xt »

Hi mates, i'm a newbie. About a couple of months i bought a 1995 citroen zx avantage 1.4 TU3 and i had to perform a complete overhauling on the engine. Finally,i started the engine and everything seems perfect,steady rpms and low idle either,it has 100 miles now or 160 kilometers,but it is swallowing up a lot of fuel,about 6 or 7 kilometers per litre or 26 mpg. I know a new engine does need the breking in period and it may consumes more oil and fuel but in the case of fuel, is that so? i know the engine can give a minimum of 10 or 11 km per litre,so, please, some advice would be great...
thanks
CITMAN
My Cars:

Post by CITMAN »

Im suprised that you had to rebuild your engine, the tu engine is usually a strong engine. What was the orginal problem. In terms of fuel consumption i only used to get about 30 mpg out of my 95 zx 1.4i around town, this would creep up to 45 mpg on a run. I would put some more miles on the engine as it will be tight after the rebuild im assuming that it had new main and big end bearings + piston rings etc. See how it is after the engine has covered a thousand miles or so.
victor xt
My Cars:

Post by victor xt »