xantia dual fans - how should they work

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

stevecritchlow
My Cars:

xantia dual fans - how should they work

Post by stevecritchlow »

While trying to work out the source of a cooling problem on my 2.1TD Xantia, I unplugged the bitron sensor. My understanding is that this is a standard test of the sensor as it should put both fans on at full speed. The fans did turn up to full speed, but when I looked at them only one was running.
I have no knowledge of the way the fans should run, so.....
- Am I right in assuming this means one of the fans is not working, and that this is probably the reason that my car sometimes gets very hot on a run? Is there ever a reason why only one fan should run?
- At what temperature should the fans come on at (low and high speed)?
- If your advice does indeed suggest one of the fans is fautly, what are the likely causes that I should work through to cure?
thanks for any advice
Steve
RichardW
Forum Treasurer
My Cars: MK2 '17 C4GP 1.6 BlueHDi 120
'13 3008 1.6 HDi GripControl

Post by RichardW »

"- Am I right in assuming this means one of the fans is not working,"
Yes - the one that doesn't run
" and that this is probably the reason that my car sometimes gets very hot on a run?"
Unlikely, see earlier post about inefficacy of fans above 30 mph
"Is there ever a reason why only one fan should run?"
No
"- At what temperature should the fans come on at (low and high speed)?"
On my VSX they come on low at about 87°C indicated, but then mine runs at around 75°C indicated, which suggests a thermostat problem, or a slight mismatch on the gauge. I've never got it hot enough to get them on high.
"- If your advice does indeed suggest one of the fans is fautly, what are the likely causes that I should work through to cure?"