BX 19

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

sh

BX 19

Post by sh »

Hi..can anyone help please?
I'm a newbie and need to know how to change/replace the rear sphere plus help on how to access the dashboard bulbs for replacement.
all advice given will be greatly appreciated...Thanks in advance!
BX 19 TXD 1992/93
Edited by - sh on 18 Apr 2001 11:44:39
alan s
RIP 2010
My Cars:

Post by alan s »

The rear spheres have to follow a set procedure to change.
Firstly; Set the suspension right to the highest setting (the one used for wheel changing)
VERY IMPORTANT: If the vehicle is not being worked on over a pit, you MUST - repeat MUST put axle stands in a position so that they will stop the car from falling on you if you accidentally lose pressure either by a sudden leak or through the height corrector being disturbed.
Next you use a chain type oil filter remover or a special sphere remover & wrap around the sphere. It will unscrew in an anti-clockwise direction. They are normally very tight, so a lot of force is required to initially loosen them.
WHEN YOU FEEL IT START TO TURN - STOP UNSCREWING IMMEDIATELY.
Loosen only 1/8 to 1/4 of a turn.
Then drop suspension adjustment lever to the LOWEST setting & release the bleed screw on the accumulator; this is a 12 mm bolt which is accessed from the front of the car it is slightly right of centre of the car just behind the radiator. Loosen 1 - 1 1/2 turns.
The spheres should by then screw off by hand.
If the membrane is ruptured internally, it is possible for a fair amount of LHM to spray from them giving the impression that there is still some slight pressure in the system.
It is important to note that throughout the entire unscrewing procedure that a careful eye is kept on the cylinders that the spheres screw into to make sure that they do not start to turn, as if they do, the pipes leading to & from the cylinders can be damaged.