Sphere changing

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

prhughes
My Cars:

Sphere changing

Post by prhughes »

I would like to change the 3 rear spheres on my '96 1.9 TD VSX Xantia.
1) Which spheres do I need (Andyspares part numbers).
2) Which removal tool.
3) I'm a novice at car repairs, how do I do it?
Thnaks.
Dave Burns
My Cars:

Post by Dave Burns »

Is it a hydractive version.
Dave
shaunthesheep
My Cars:

Post by shaunthesheep »

sphere removal tool, it's a band wrench
1) you can make you own (its listed on here, if you do a search for the word "sphere removal tool" then you should find it)
2) you can go to http://www.pleiades.uk.com they do one, it's about £30 quid, and very handy to have.
dom
prhughes
My Cars:

Post by prhughes »

It is a hydractive version.
RichardW
Forum Treasurer
My Cars: MK2 '17 C4GP 1.6 BlueHDi 120
'13 3008 1.6 HDi GripControl

Post by RichardW »

If it's hydractive, then there should be 4 rear spheres - 2 wheel spheres, the anti-sink sphere and the hydractive sphere. Should be failry obvious which ones to order.
As to changing them, not too bad:
First: DO NOT get under the car UNLESS it is properly supported, lift or pit preferably, but ramps and or stands if not. It can drop suddenly and squash you flat.