Xantia Rear Hydraulics Not Raising

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

Reds_Water

Xantia Rear Hydraulics Not Raising

Post by Reds_Water »

The Hydraulics on the front are raising, but the back will not raise at all. I am new to the citroens so don't realy have any idea what is what.
1.9 Turbo diesel VSX 1993/94
As far as i know the braking system and steering are all working.
I have no manuals or anyhting like that.
All help will be appreaciated.
Thanks
shaunthesheep
My Cars:

Post by shaunthesheep »

reds,
did this happen suddelly? or did you notice over a couple of weeks?
same thing happen to me, failed height correcter was cause of it.
but there might be another cause for the rear not to raise at all.
hope this helps you to find out what the problem might be.
dom
MW
My Cars:

Post by MW »

Sounds awfully familiar. I had a problem last year with some sort of a fluid distribution valve (maybe this is the height corrector that others have mentioned?). First the car wouldn't lift much at the back, then it seized completely in the low position. The most noticeable side-effect, for me, was that the back wheels instantly locked whenever I hit the brakes. (Rear brakes and suspension are linked on the Xantia).
Either way, it was not good, and really quite dangerous because the car was handling atrociously. I took the car to my Citroen dealer, who relieved me of £190 and replaced the valve. But I've heard since then that this adjuster thing can be freed up with WD40.
Can anybody tell me whether I'm getting it all mixed up?
Cheers
Mike
JohnD
(Donor 2022)
My Cars: 2010 Citroen C5-X7 tourer
1998 Citroen Saxo 1.5D
2018 Citroen C4-B7
1998 Peugeot 306. 1.9D
2011 Citroen C1

Post by JohnD »

Have a look at the height corrector and see if the plastic clip is still in place.
pwatson
My Cars:

Post by pwatson »