Reasons for Head Gasket Failure

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

davek-uk
My Cars:

Reasons for Head Gasket Failure

Post by davek-uk »

Being a home mechanic (I use the term loosely) I have limited knowledge of head gasket failures but covering the mileage I do (25k-30k pa) with old cars means I have had a few fail.
In everyone's considered opinion what is the most common causes of head gasket failure?
Thinking back, I cannot remember ever having removed a gasket with obvious damage (other than rust around the waterways) so I'm wondering if they usually fail when the head flexes due to the bolts stretching – helped in many cases by poor torque settings and/or overheating.
If that's the case, could you prolong head gaskets by replacing the head bolts at regular intervals – or just re-torque the originals?
beezer

Post by beezer »

With diesels, the most common cause of gasket failure appears to be overheating by whatever means. The diesel combustion process generates a lot of heat and if cooling is insufficient the head suffers (driver's head and cylinder head).
G4EIY
My Cars:

Post by G4EIY »

Hi Dave,
If you look at the "Hints and Tips" section, I have put on a couple of items, which is purely from problems on the Citroen diesels that I have owned.
This may help you to understand why good cooling is so essential.
Cheers
tomsheppard
My Cars:

Post by tomsheppard »

PRM and I are convinced that there are two main reasons for the failure of BX Diesel head gaskets. Once the engine has done 100,000 miles, the radiator efficiency is usually reduced to the point that the gasket is vulnerable. We'd counsel anybody who'd listen to have the radiator flow tested by professionals at this mileage and be prepared for bad news.