WVO in common rail

This is the place for posts that don't fit into any other category.

Moderator: RichardW

xantos
My Cars: Xantia 1.9TD Break non-hydractive (1999)
Xantia 3.0 V6 Activa (1998)
C4 2.0 HDi Exclusive Mk2 (2010)

WVO in common rail

Post by xantos »

Hello!

Been running my Xantia 1.9TD on different ratios of WVO, WHO and diesel. It's been running now for 2 years and within I covered about 40kkm. Only mods that I've done is coolant heat exchanger and heated fuel filter (from a Golf MK1 :-D ). I change my engine oil every 10kkm and so far I didn't notice any polymerization...

In the last few days, I studied the possibility of WVO in common rail engines. Xantias will not last forever and at some point other car will have to be thought of ... :)

I came across a PhD on this subject (PDF, 423 pages):

https://www.google.si/url?sa=t&rct=j&q= ... QMqG5iYPP3

Of course, I have not (yet) read the whole document, just abstract and a conclusions.

Interestingly, in fact, the common rail system, through all the sensors it has, allows many things that can be tweaked. It is necessary to change the MAP (and probably to replace the injectors). At least that's what's written in PhD. Well, the biggest problem with WVO is dirt, viscosity, water and PH (to acidic). But with proper treatment WVO can be made to meet the standards for common rail use.

The design is done in cooperation with Elsbett (it's now called Grease Energy), who is also a supplier of injectors and already has changed MAPs for common rail systems.

For example:
https://www.greasenergy-shop.com/epages ... rrency=EUR

Even though, the price is high, in principle it will cover the expense within a year or so.