tablet to dash

This is the place for posts that don't fit into any other category.

Moderator: RichardW

jgra1
(Donor 2021)
My Cars: 2010 C5 X7 2.0 hdi 160 exc auto
MG TF 135
Boxer II 2.2 camper conversion
BMW R1200RT
BMW K1300 R
Honda V F R 800 5thG / MT500 Armstrong

tablet to dash

Post by jgra1 »

hi all, as some of you know, I am building a budget camper from a generic panel van, in this case a Sevel made Boxer II. Whilst I normally keep things standard, in this van I don't mind making useful additions (the whole van is a modification anyway lol)

I am not that tech savvy, and have never owned a tablet, but I get the impression really they are just a larger version of a smartphone?

Quite often I use my smartphone as a sat nav, or music store, or even as a hands free phone (in the X7) ..

is it possible for me to fit a tablet into the dash of the van, probably with a 'view' of the sky, so I can

A) add a sat-nav app and use it like I normally do

B) play a store of music through a headunit, via an aux in - got one or two of those lying about

C) access wifi if near enough a source, to update, download etc

D) be able to navigate with a blue tooth generic ODB port reader for general diagnostics

E) communicate with my Lexia cable/obd - on the move

F) be able to view a couple of old reversing cams I have lying around (Cable digital cameras from memory - using phono leads I suspect)

G) be able to communicate with a wireless camera

H) be able to be a hands free phone (presumably communicating with a smartphone)

I) be able to pick up digital tv with some DVT plug-in, and an ariel

J) be able to communicate with another tablet nearby, to read/write data between

K) be able to be voice activated ( I think my Samsung phone has this although never used it)

My present phone and last were both android, and I am happy with that..
if any of the above is possible, the tablet I guess needs :
Wifi connectivity
USB port(s)
a line-out
Bluetooth