Could we do this... (de-clamping)

This is the place for posts that don't fit into any other category.

Moderator: RichardW

deian

Could we do this... (de-clamping)

Post by deian »

I remember reading somewhere (quite possibly here, maybe the previous thread, but not checked it for a while now, so i don't remember) that it's easier to take a wheel of a hydraulic car?

Here is my plan (maybe someone mentioned it before too, but i've been fine-tuning it)...

1. Get clamped
2. Get in the car, start the engine, raise suspension to full height
3. Jack car up
4. Deflate tyre
5. Take Clamp off
6. Re-inflate tyre
7. Take jack off
8. Check tyre pressure
9. Lever car to normal
10 Drive off with a smile.

Obviously, to really get away with it, you'd need to do something to hide/change your number plate, cos chances are the clampers take pictures as evidence. Or the local authorities can take it further.

Would this work?

Thanks
Sturdybloke

Post by Sturdybloke »

When I was a student many moons ago (jogs off down memory lane for a bit :D :wink: :wink: :wink: ) one of the boys in the class had his Astra clamped in a carpark of a furniture store. He had been out the night before on the falling down juice and decided that it was best to walk home and collect the car in the morning (as he had had a skinfull AIRC). He had failed to notice that clampers operate in the carpark and when he went back the next morning it was clamped. Him and another guy that was on the same course went down and 'liberated' it with a selection of tools. They got the clamp off in about 3 hours or so but jesus knows how they seperated the clamp from the rim as the centre of the clamp covered the wheelnuts & driveshaft nut. Wish I knew where in the world he is now to ask him. But it is possible.