Xsara 2.0 HDI 90bhp Aircon button light not staying on etc..

Post your Cit/Peu/Ren air conditioning queries or advice.

Moderator: RichardW

Nuneatonrob
My Cars:

Xsara 2.0 HDI 90bhp Aircon button light not staying on etc..

Post by Nuneatonrob » 22 Jul 2008, 19:36

First of all hello to everyone as I am a newbie to the site.

I have a 99 Xsara 2.0 HDI 90 SX and the air con is confusing me...firstly when you hit the button, the light comes on but won't stay lit. This has obviously been like it for some time, as there are marks round the button, where the previous owner has used something to 'wedge' the switch 'down' to keep the light on. I have pressed the switch down, and the compressor kicked in, but no cold air, and a strange sort of whistling noise from behind the dash is apparent. Anyway, during the course of trying to rectify a strange whirring noise from round the aux drive belt area, my mechanic said it was due to a faulty compressor...today he has come round, and replaced the compressor, (which hasn't got rid of the noise...he now thinks it's the alternator) and evacuated the system by simply undoing the pipes off the back of the compressor....(after reading a few posts on here..not the best idea)...anyway it's booked in for a regas tomorrow...it must hold some pressure as when he slackened the bolt for the pipes a lot of gas seemed to escape...anyway, the point of this post is to find out whether or not the light on the a/c button should stay lit regardless or gas in the system, and if so what could be causing it to not stay lit. Any advise would be really appreciated as i've already wasted money on a compressor for no reason!!!

Cheers,

Rob
0x

howiedean
My Cars:

Re: Xsara 2.0 HDI 90bhp Aircon button light not staying on e

Post by howiedean » 23 Jul 2008, 18:29

Nuneatonrob wrote:First of all hello to everyone as I am a newbie to the site.